Another Weight Loss Special – The First Week

runner2I joined a gym for the first time in many, many years a few weeks ago.  We were having another cold snap with temperatures in the minus twenties and although I have no issues in running in sub zero weather once it gets down to this particular mercury dip (-20 and beyond) count me out. So committed to losing weight I joined the gym. I was gung ho for the first couple of weeks but then Reilly got sick and then we had a an over night EEG planned and I got out of sync. I have gone here and there but all last week I had another excuse not to go. Although I did run 4 times last week but the scale is not moving.

Yesterday afternoon I told my husband that the gym is not for me, I can’t stand running on the treadmill and I am not a big fan of fitness classes so I was going to cancel it and think of something else to do.  In the mean-time I was going to try to make the most of it since I am paying for it.

So I dragged my sorry ass to a spin class in the evening, dreading the workout.  I have never had this particular instructor before and I have to say she was awesome for setting up a challenging routine and really making us think twice about turning down the dial before it was time.  Although I would have much preferred to be cycling outside she made an important point that there is no way most of us would ever challenge ourselves to the same extent if we were riding outside.  Unfortunately she is right.  I took up her challenge and gave it my all, to the point I had to take an Advil before I went to bed as my legs had already started to ache.  It made me think about my running and although I am doing speed work and hill repeats, I obviously need more in place to move the scale downward.

I have to say though I am tired of having this goal of losing weight in front of me. I am tired of opening the closet and being restricted to a couple of outfits for I no longer fit into all my old clothes, I am tired of not being able to wear my wedding rings for they are currently too  tight and I am tired of not wanting to get my picture taken for then it means I have to see face reality and process the disconnect I have in my mind.

So here is what I am going to do about… I am going to lose the weight so I can take this item off my goals list and realize all the amazing benefits that will go along with it! And you never know maybe I can acquire the amazing set of abs above 🙂

Each week I am committed to writing about my progress, I don’t care if anyone reads this but it provides me with a level of accountability that I hope will contribute to my success.

Week # 1 Tasks:

  1. Book an appointment with a Dr to get blood work done.  I missed my annual physical due to moving to a new city and it would be interesting to see if anything shows up given how much unavoidable stress I am under.
  2. Run 30 km
  3. No desserts! This one is going to be very, very hard.
  4. Go to the gym 3x – either for a Spin class or weight work-out.
  5. Drink only water as my beverage of choice – except my two coffees/day 🙂
  6. Meditate 10 minutes a day

Weight Loss Goal:  17 pounds

Goal completion Date:  June 24th!!!!

Leave a Reply

