Incentive to take the stairs

Usually it is just me taking Reilly to one of her many clinic appointments at the Alberta Children’s Hospital but Mike was able to come with me to one recently.  We had a long wait and I had to use the washroom but the women’s washroom in the area was closed for renovations so I was going to have to go a floor up. Instead of taking the elevator I decided to use the stairs and was pleasantly surprised at what I saw in the stair case.

Not that I am a connoisseur of stair cases but I have never seen anything done like this before to encourage people to use the stairs instead of the elevator. Unfortunately wheelchairs don’t work well on the stairs so I will be forced to use the elevator for most of my visits at the hospital but nevertheless I think this is an incredibly creative and smart strategy to promote staying fit and highlighting city athletes.  It would be great to see more office buildings do something like this, whether it be directly to encourage fitness or indirectly by putting up other marketing campaigns. Pretty neat!

Stair case at Alberta Children's Hospital

Stair case at Alberta Children’s Hospital

Stair case at Alberta Children's Hospital

Stair case at Alberta Children’s Hospital

Stair case at Alberta Children's Hospital

Stair case at Alberta Children’s Hospital

Leave a Reply

