I was Liebstered!

 

I am tickled pink to be given such a recognition by another blogger Being Special.  Thank you so much for your kind thoughts and introducing me to your own wonderful journey within this special needs world as a teacher of our children.  As a special needs parent, it is people like you that make us breathe a little easier and deeper.

liebster-award

So the Liebster rules are as follows: 

1) You must thank the person who gave you this award

2) You must display the Liebster heart on your blog

3) You should nominate 3 to 5 up-and-coming blogs (some rule variations say 11) with less than 200 subscribers

4) Each person must post 11 things about themselves

5) Answer the questions given to you by the blogger who nominated you

6) Create 11 questions for those you nominate to answer

7) Notify your nominees and provide a link back to your post

8) And no tag backs (the point is to try and highlight new bloggers so let’s spread the support )

Questions I was given and my Answers

Name one thing that really makes you YOU

  • Always a fighter for what I believe in.

If you could have politicians power for a day, what would you do?

  • The list would be pretty long but without over thinking this question,  at a high level here are some of the initiatives that come to mind:
    • Approve a plan for all roads to be bike friendly
    • Abolish the current Ontario Teacher’s Union
    • Mandate all teachers to participate in an extracurricular activity of some sort (Arts, Music, Sports, other) as part of their job
    • Increase taxes on those making the top 5%
    • Provide greater assistance to those families supporting a loved one with special needs – programs, respite, etc.
    • Improve drastically the commuting situation within the GTA
    • Allow for spousal salary sharing (so if a parent needs/wants to stay at home, the other spouse’s income can be split) – household income view versus individual view

Who would you REALLY love to read your blog? 

  • Great question. A wealthy person willing to give us money so Reilly could have her own eye gaze computer. Now that would be nice.  LOL.

What is your biggest vice? 

  • Carbohydrates in general.  Groan as I think about stepping all the scale and seeing the additional weight that has been added as a result of my recent stress eating.

What is your greatest achievement? 

  • My greatest achievement to date is that I honestly believe that as an individual and as a family unit, I/we have led a fuller life than most families with ‘normal’ children. My husband and I have made a point to work hard on pushing beyond the boundaries that Rett Syndrome has tried to create for us, despite the countless obstacles and additional challenges.  Without saying this achievement is not a static one-time thing, like running a marathon, but rather an on-going goal of mine. Unfortunately sometimes this extra push for a ‘normal’ life catches up with us as we deal with the realities but we won’t stop trying.

Name your favourite book, why is it so good? 

  • Oh my goodness to name just one book is very challenging.  There are so many on my favorite list for different reasons, here is a sample from my list…. Book of Negros (power of resiliency within us); The Help (funny, empowering and just wonderful); Sarah’s Key (heart wrenching and powerful), The Hunger Games (so entertaining), A Pray for Owen Meany (read this when I was a teenager and it had a profound impact on me), the list goes on….

One quote that you live by…

  • I believe everything does happen for a reason. 

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be and why? 

  • This one is easy. I would live in a little city somewhere in Europe. I would have a small, quaint little flat, full of character and history but with all modern amenities.  My main mode of transportation would be my bike which I would use to frequent the local bakery, butcher and grocer a few times a week, as well as, to work and pick up my girls from school.  A simpler life where the pace of life is drastically slower, where it appears more people live in the present moment.  I have always been drawn to Europe and have romanticized on what it would be like to live there. Some day I will realize this dream, even if it is only for a months sabbatical.

How would your best friend describe you?

  • Emotionally strong (although recently the foundation has started to crack), Reliable, someone you can count on, Stubborn, Trustworthy, Dependable, ….

Stranded on a desert island, one luxury allowed only, what would it be and why?

  •  Does a hot guy count? Hmm, I would love to say my KOBO with an endless battery where there are dozens of books uploaded to it but that is not realistic. So, I will have to be super practical and say a wide brimmed hat.  Otherwise, I would easily get overheated and sun burnt and would be miserable and would find the nearest cliff to jump off of.

What is the funniest thing you have ever done?

  • I purposely erase all embaressing moments from my memory banks for self preservation.   I am rather on the serious side and know I need to improve my sense of humour (no comments from the husband gallery) and learn to  laugh more at my self.   One recent event though that is still fresh and hasn’t gone over to the memory lapse side yet concerns a skirt and work. Last week in fact I wore a skirt to work (it comes just above the knees) with dark tights. Well I was walking back to my desk down a long office hall when I stopped to talk to our President (a peer of mine) and when we were done our hall conversation he quietly mentioned that I may want to adjust my skirt that was partially tucked up into my tights.  Needless to say I turned the brightest shade of red and mumbled thanks. Doh!

My Liebster nominations go to….

1. Suzanne and Co – Suzanne is one of my closest and dear friends and started a blog before Christmas.  I am hoping that this will motivate her to continue with it for she is a funny, witty lady.

2. CharlotteTwenty09 –  When my daughter was 3 it was truly the lowest point in my life due to the turmoil, Rett Syndrome, was creating in my little girls mind and body.  I sense the mom behind this blog is going through some similar challenges and right now her voice is small and squeaky. I hope that over time she will gain more and more strength using her blog as an outlet to yell, scream, and laugh at the trials, tribulations and adventures that go hand in hand with the world of Rett Syndrome.

3. 365 days of Gifts from my non-verbal daughter – A blog that provides a beautiful reminder of the little pearls that exist within this special world we live in. I look forward to being inspired each day.

My Liebster Award Questions

1.  If you could have lunch with one celebrity who would it be and why?

2. If you could give your special needs child one new ability what would it be?

3. What is your greatest day to day challenge?

4. What do you do to let off steam?

5.  If you won a two week vacation anywhere in the world where would you go (not your family members just you)?

6.  What is the latest book you have read?

7. If you had to give one piece of advice to a mom who just received a similar diagnosis as your child what would it be?

8. What keeps you up at night?

9. What is one of your future goals in life?

10. At the end of your life what is one thing you would like to be remembered for?

11. If you had the opportunity to plan a girls night or day out what would you do?

Leave a Reply

