Sweet Dreams

I took a couple of pictures of Reilly’s room recently for it is all neat and tidy.  On most days it does remain quite organized for we don’t use it for a play room despite having the Winnie the Pooh television in her room.  Reilly’s room is normally reserved just for sleeping and quiet time with the tv.  I am not a big fan of the tv and our other daughter does not have one in her room nor will she never have one but when you have a special needs child, the rules change, at least for her.

Over the years I have debated on how to dress up Reilly’s room, do I plaster it with all the items she loves (i.e. Winnie the Pooh), do I simply make it pretty and age appropriate, or turn it into a sensory room.  I am no interior decorator but I have opted for the ‘pretty look’ and have instead turned our finished basement into the area with all her toys, posters of Winnie the Pooh, and the girls art work.

Reilly's Room Jan 2013

Reilly’s Room Jan 2013

IMG_6080

We are looking for although Reilly has seizures, she doesn’t have any medical needs.  If her mobility issues continue to be a problem we might eventually have to consider a lift but for now we are relying on the strength of our backs to lift her into bed.

I started to look up some photos of what others have done and came across a couple of cool rooms and also some really neat floating beds (see below).  I am a little shocked at the price of these floating beds but maybe when I win the lottery I could report on how cool one is. Or maybe this would make a good Children’s Wish, hmmm that is an idea.

SheKnows.com

SheKnows.com

The Floating Bed

The Floating Bed

The Floating Bed

Leave a Reply

