Radical Reels

Last night I went up to Barrie, ON to see the Banff Mountain Film Festival’s Radical Reels screening. This is the 3rd year that Sojourn has sponsored/hosted the screening and my second viewing.  I have also attended the Banff Mountain Film Festival World Tour screening held in Toronto, three years running and all I can say is that these films are pretty awesome.   The films shown in the Radical Reels screening are those that are considered the ‘best high-adrenaline films entered into the Banff Mountain Film and Book Festival competition‘.  I can definitely vouch for the high-adrenaline part for I think my stomach was in a knot most of the night watching death defying adventures take place on the screen.   As a mom watching these films I couldn’t help but watch many of these films from this perspective and wondered how I would handle it if my child decided they wanted to partake in one of these crazy sports.  I honestly think I would have to tell them to not let me know what they are up to and pretend they are off doing something innocent.

Below is the run down of the films viewed. To learn more about each film, refer to Banff Mountain Film Festival’s Radical Reels

 

My favourite for the evening was ‘Reel Rock: Race for the Nose”. It was made in the USA, directed and produced by Nick Rosen and Peter Mortimer and was only 22 minutes in length. This film won the People’s Choice Award and I can see why as it has a great mix of incredible athletic feat, competitive spirit, danger and humour.  In accordance with the film description, for 50 years, the best climbers in the world have been one-upping each other on the Nose route of El Capitan, a massive granite monolith in Yosemite  National Park.  In pairs of two, they race up 3,000 feat of vertical rock to try to beat the previous record. The race component forces them to defy a lot of normal safety measures and leaves all those that attempt to secure the fastest time vulnerable to their own ego and dependent on their partner and the cooperation of the rock.

For more information check them out at www.senderfilms.com, you will not be disappointed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

