Another morning of Running

I am so excited but I ran again this morning, twice this week!  This morning I met another girlfriend and we did approximately 7.5km and included two hill repeats. I know this will not excite most people but it means that I am over the worst hurdle of trying to get back into running after the set backs I have had this winter and can now sit down and plan out a decent ramp up training schedule.

Months ago I signed up for the Toronto Sporting Life 10k event being held this Sunday, Mothers Day.   The site boasts that over 25,000 participants are running it this year which is incredible, especially given that there was a fall out of some sort with the Sponsor of the event, Sporting Life and the Race Organizers. So the Race Organizers of previous years decided to hold their own 10k 3 or so weeks earlier along the same route.  The only reason that we chose to continue with this race is because a good friend is fundraising for the Camp for she has a good friend who has a young son with cancer.

Sounds like a good enough reason for me.   Given that I haven’t been able to train for the event I figured it would be a waste of money to hire a childcare sitter at $15/hour for me to do a practice run.  I was disappointed that I wasn’t able to do this but it just didn’t make sense financially.  So when a girlfriend floated the idea of doing a trail run on Saturday instead, I figured why not for my other half would be with the girls and the $35 trail run registration was less than half the money it would cost for a childcare provider.

So registered I am for my first trail race. My girlfriend is signed up for the 12k   event but I smartly decided to sign up for the 6k event. I have only run once on  trails and I can’t even count the number of ‘almost falls’ or the times I rolled over on one ankle or the other.  Despite these mishaps I was no worse for wear in the end and loved the experience so here is trying my first official trail run.

The good news (I think) is that my husband felt bad that I couldn’t do Sporting Life so he figured out a way that we can make it happen with zero cost to us. It involves having Reilly stay over at my in-laws and London going to a friends house at 6.30 am in time to pick up the dad who is also running this race. Unfortunately it is too much to ask our friend to look after both girls and my in-laws have company staying over and likewise it would be too much to ask for both girls to stay over.

So for a girl who hasn’t run in weeks, now has a full weekend of running events, bring them on!

Leave a Reply

