Snails, Frogs and Worms

I have had to abandon my running routines in the past 2 1/2 months due to a few different issues, including rolling over my foot and putting my cuboid bone out of alignment, coming down with bronchitis, asthma issues, blah, blah, blah.  Every so often during this time I would lace up my shoes thinking the worst is behind me only to be sidelined again for a period of days.  On Friday of last week I went out for my first run in a long time and intended to keep it to 7k max. I felt great, thanks to a nice and easy pace and ended up with 9k under my belt.

This morning I resumed my usual Tuesday 5.00 am schedule and met a girlfriend at our usual spot.  During my time off, my friend has become fitter than ever and right from the first few steps, we were at an angle with her two steps ahead. I had to politely remind her that I was just getting back into running and I might need to harness her to keep her back at my pace.  Despite the continuous drizzle, we had a great run catching up and trying to avoid the crunchy snails, jumping fogs and many worms, as well as, all the puddles. In the end I was soaked from head to toe but it was 14 degrees out so it wasn’t too bad.

Our overall pace was 5:57/km and normally this would be a walk in the park but it became my new speed work pace. Hopefully in no time I will be back where I was and even stronger.

  • Lap 1 – 6:08
  • Lap 2 – 5:53
  • Lap 3 -6:32 (asked to walk up a hill)
  • Lap 4 – 5:41
  • Lap 5 – 5:47
  • Lap 6 – 5:43
  • Lap 7 – 6:00 (30 second walk break request)
  • Lap 8 – 5:49

A great way to start the day!

Leave a Reply

