The Secret

I have been having a real tough time at work lately and I have also been sidelined on the running front so needless to say I have been down in the dumps but looking for answers. On Monday night I chatted with a girlfriend who went to Oprah’s Lifeclass session and as to be expected it was an incredible experience. Despite her being 20 rows from the back in a crowd of 9000 people, Oprah came to her section and she was able to touch her arm and say some meaningful words to her.  I relayed to my friend that I have met a few people who appeal to a higher universal force to help guide them in their lives and in every case, these individuals lead wonderful “charmed” lives. I asked out loud whether this ability to connect with the greater force out there is open to everyone or whether it is like other things  where some people’s brains are wired a certain way and only a select few can tap into it. 

For some reason I have never really tried, assuming that why would “little old me” have this amazing ability to connect with something greater until yesterday. Going into work yesterday I started asking out loud in a crazy way could someone guide me in what I am supposed to. I figured I had nothing to lose and might as well try. Unfortunately I had another crappy day.  After work I proceeded to go pick up my youngest daughter and her friend from their first yoga class.  I arrived at the studio 15 minutes early and sat down and started looking around. I noticed a little corner with a couple of shelves with quite a few well read books on them. So I ventured over, scanned the spines of the books and selected one called The Secret by Rhonda Byrne. I have seen this book before at stores and honestly thought it was a novel so I decided I would scan it and see what it was about.  When I opened the book I realized right away that it was a self help book and at first I was slightly dissapointed. I read a lot of these types of books but I was just looking for a little distraction. I continued though to plunge in and learned right away that the title of the book and the premise of its learnings all centres around The Law of Attraction.  Essentially what you think is what you will attract, and it implies that all my recent woes are self-induced.  So for the next 5 minutes and no more I read, digested, cleared my mind, read, digested, cleared my mind, and was hooked to continue but had to get ready to receive the girls as the class was drawing to an end. I vowed to pick up the book asap.

I went down to wait near the classroom where the girls would be coming out and there was another mom who was waiting for her daughter. We started chatting and I learned that she works for a large company within their Supply Chain Management division. The odds of meeting someone within this industry are small, let alone at a yoga studio. I  half-jokingly said ‘are you hiring’ and she said in fact I am. I was floored. Within 15 minutes of entering the yoga studio, I literally fell upon a secret that might change my life for the positive.  This lady emailed me right them and I responded later last night with my contact information and requested that we get together for a coffee/tea. Regardless of what happens, I have made a connection and one that will be a good reminder of the power of attraction through the vibes you create as a result of your thoughts and internal energy.

Despite the crap that might go on today, I am actually looking forward to seeing things unfold given my “new secret”.

Leave a Reply

